top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

September Wrap-Up

"That was all it took: a powerful person, with a powerful tool, and a single choice."- Locklands

In Reading...

This month I broke out my worst enemy from prison, made friends with griffins, searched for an elusive will, tried not to make eye contact with humans and moved to *shudders* a manufacturing town.


The books of September with links to my thoughts on them:

Locklands by Robert Jackson Bennett

Contest of Queens by Jordan H. Bartlett

Peril at End House by Agatha Christie

All Systems Red by Martha Wells

North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell


Favourite read was Locklands. What a great end to the trilogy! I love the originality of the magic system Robert Jackson Bennett has created here, it made the world so interesting and often times amusing, despite the high stakes. Funny, poignant and with truly fantastic characters, this series will make you question ideas around identity, morality and reality itself.


In Writing...

I received the ARC copies of Without a Shadow! Truly a special moment to hold a physical copy of my book! I re-read it over a weekend and honestly, there are some things I know are not perfect about it, but I am so proud of it and I loved every page in my very unbiased way. Next month the work on drafting the sequel truly begins.


In Life...

The announcement has been made - we are expecting baby no. 2 in February 2024 and it's another boy! Couldn't be more thrilled, or scared, but mostly just very very happy to be making Oscar a big brother and completing our family. Because definitely I ain't doing this for a third time.

Comments


bottom of page