top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

August Wrap-Up

"Trust no one. That is the first, the most vital thing. Trust no one."- Death Comes as the End

In Reading...

This month I got my clearance level downgraded, drank in the words of Shakespeare, sent a plea to the underworld, took my plant on the run with me, moved to a farm in Ireland, and pretended to be in a car accident.


The books of August with links to my thoughts on them:

Slow Horses by Mick Herron

If We Were Villains by M. L. Rio

Death Comes as the End by Agatha Christie

Foster by Claire Keegan

Why Didn't They Ask Evans by Agatha Christie


Favourite read was Death Comes as the End. I really hope they do an adaptation of this one. This was such a different Agatha Christie read as it was both Historical Fiction and Murder Mystery with no Poirot or Marple in sight. I loved the setting, the sense of foreboding and I even found the romance touching.


In Writing...

I am finally finished with the editing of my novel. Three rounds with my editor, one copyedit and the first pages are all done. Tick, tick, tick. I have a post about the whole editing process here, but overall it was a happy, stressful time. Now comes writing the sequel...


In Life...

We travelled to Spain this month! Yes, during the heatwave. But we had a blast. It was so good to see Oscar adapt yet again to the Spanish way of life. Paseos, tapas, la playa... he took all the changes brilliantly and I think had the most fun he's had in Spain so far!

Commentaires


bottom of page