top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

Locklands Review

That was all it took: a powerful person, with a powerful tool, and a single choice.

Locklands

by Robert Jackson Bennett

Genre: Adult Fantasy/Sci-Fi


About: The third in the trilogy to the Founders series, this sees Sancia et al. fighting the entity that is Tevanne in nothing short than a battle to stop them from ending reality as we know it. Of course there are heists as well, one of them being a prison breakout of their deadliest enemy...


Thoughts

This series holds a special place in my heart. It has such a unique magic system that not only explores these huge philosophical questions on identity, morality and reality, but does so with humour and love centring the story at all times. I took my time finishing this last book because I loved being in the world with these characters so much.


Eight years have passed since Shorefall Night and I loved the changes we see in the world from that time. Sancia and Berenice have created a truly interesting new world and I thought the cadences of Greeter and Design were very clever ways for Robert Jackson Bennett to show the unique new culture, while not overwhelming us with a tonne of new characters. It also worked perfectly with the magic system.


I particularly enjoyed finding out more about Clef's past and almost wish Crasedes had come into the story earlier because his relationship with Clef was really interesting (both funny and heart-breaking at points).


The writing was also standout. I think I loved the prose of this one more than the previous two books, everything just felt more dramatic and spectacular and the emotional moments really hit home for me. I don't think everything about the story was perfect. The ending felt right, but also a little unbelievable that leaps in civilization could be made so quickly, and the overall tension of what Tevanne hoped to achieve was pointed out by the characters how ridiculous it sounded when said out loud.


But it wasn't the end goal or the stakes that really captivated me with this series. It was always the characters and this truly unique world. Each book got better and better and I'm looking forward to a future re-read because I think this is a really special series that deserves all the praise it receives.

コメント


bottom of page