top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

All Systems Red Review

You may have noticed that when I do manage to care, I'm a pessimist.

All Systems Red

by Martha Wells

Genre: Sci-Fi Novella


About: Murderbot is on a simple survey mission, and he's brought hundreds of hours of entertainment to watch so, asides from the occasional interaction with his human clients, he has nothing to worry about. Until his humans get attacked and he has to - sigh - do something. Nor is the attack a one-off. Figuring out what's going on is going to take serious time off his soap opera binge.


Quick Thoughts

The narrator for this audiobook does a great job and Murderbot is a really funny, likeable character. I especially enjoyed his relationship with Mensa. Where I think I felt a disconnect was with the actual plot. There's mystery and danger, but a bit of a lacklustre reveal. The story is really how Murderbot interacts with his clients who slowly begin to feel more like his crew. So there are more cosy vibes than tension. I liked it overall and would be interested to continue the series, but it just didn't grab me in any way.

Comments


bottom of page