top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

June Wrap-Up

"If you're watching, Eo, it's time to close your eyes. The Reaper has come. And he's brought hell with him."- Morning Star

In Reading...

This month... Pues, yo fui una mujer invisible para unos tiempo, I turned fossils into handy murder weapons, made a deal with a Prince of Hell, encountered a few dead bodies, studied train time tables, made a play to overthrow Luna, and sent letters through time.


The books of June, with links to my thoughts on them:

Short Stories in Spanish by Olly Richards

Stone Mattress by Margaret Atwood

Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco

They Do It With Mirrors by Agatha Christie

Tokyo Express by Seicho Matsumoto

Morning Star by Pierce Brown

This Is How You Lose The Time War by Amal El-Mohtar and Max Gladstone


My favourite read of the monthwas hands down, no competition, 5/5 stars - Morning Star by Pierce Brown. Loved the end to this awesome trilogy. What a wild, emotional ride. Happily have got another friend addicted and can't wait to start Iron Gold with her!


In Writing...

Back to the editing game. Without a Shadow has been through a fair number of edits by now (couldn't even count them if I tried) but this is the third official one with my editor and - finally - I'm understanding what polishing a manuscript actually means. Really liking the new bits I'm adding in and excited to read it from start to finish with the next round: copyedits!


In Life...

Life has been stressful and joyful. I can't say more than that really. Oh and I did celebrate my birthday at the beginning of the month. So nice to enjoy a meal out as a family - Korean BBQ everyday would suit me just fine.

Comments


bottom of page