top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

Stone Mattress Review

From this distance it does resemble fun. Fun is not knowing how it will end.

Stone Mattress

by Margaret Atwood


Genre: Contemporary Short Stories

Mini Review


This is a great collection of short stories that have fantastic character voices. I particularly enjoyed that the main characters are mostly elderly as this viewpoint is not something I've seen a lot of in short stories. And while there is some quiet reflection as you'd expect to see from more experienced characters, these tales are not relaxing, nostalgic reads. They're dark and unsettling and feature strong personalities with detailed histories.


My order of preference:

The Dead Hand Loves You

Stone Mattress

Revenant

Dark Lady

Alphinland

The Freeze-Dried Groom

I Dream of Zenia with the Bright Red Teeth

Torch the Dusties

Lusus Naturae


The first three shorts (Alphinland, Revenant and Dark Lady) are connected and I do wish all the shorts had been as I loved seeing the different perspectives intertwined.


All the stories had something provocative about them and are certainly memorable. However my reading experience was that it was quite slow paced because a lot of the time the story is really a slow build of a character rather than a tense narrative.

תגובות


bottom of page