top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

April Wrap-Up

Books are not about passing time. They’re about other lives. Other worlds. Far from wanting time to pass, one just wishes one had more of it. – Alan Bennett

In Reading...

Three fantasies, one murder mystery and one guilty-pleasure romance. This month I travelled beyond the Wall to Faerie, passed Doorways through to three Londons (missing out only on Black London), got involved in a mafia gang, hunted down a killer and found time to fall in love and lust with a celebrity.


The books of April, with links to my thoughts on them:

The Word is Murder by Anthony Horowitz

Jade City by Fonda Lee

A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab

Stardust by Neil Gaiman

Spoiler Alert by Olivia Dade


Favourite read was Jade City. So beautiful, clever and immersive in the writing. I loved the magic system and the world. You'll worry for the characters, get pissed off at them, and never want their stories to end. The first book in a trilogy that I most definitely will be continuing.


In Writing...

Had so much fun doing Camp Nanowrimo this month! My goal was to write 20K and... goal achieved. I'm now halfway through writing my novel and itching to edit it already. Not always the easiest thing in the world to write every day, but I'm so proud to have made it a habit and to actually be making progress with the story - even if a lot of it will have to be rewritten at a later date.


In Life...

The sun makes fools of us all and hope is definitely in the air for this year's summer. Husband got vaccinated this month and now when we talk of travelling and seeing friends and family, it's starting to feel not so impossible. Getting more sleep also helps with the positivity. Oscar is now (mostly) sleeping on his own for five or six hours at night - with the help of some heavy metal music, the little weirdo.

Less happy was having to say goodbye to a beloved family cat. Misty hadn't been doing so well this year and it's very strange to think the next time I see my family that fluffball won't be shadowing my mum as she always did. Hate that I wasn't able to be around for that time and wish I could give my mum a big hug.

Comments


bottom of page