top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

June Wrap-Up

“A room without books is like a body without a soul.” ― Marcus Tullius Cicero

In Reading...

So I read a lot of books this month, and pretty much enjoyed all of them (only one 2 star read). Genre-wise my read list comprised of: two Sci-Fis, two Thrillers, four Fantasies and one Contemporary. Settings included an 1800s plantation in the South, Mexico in the 1920s, a library full of parallel universes, a country divided by shadow, a pirate ship, the hood, a ballet company, a small tight-lipped village and a forest full of the fae.


The books of June, with links to my thoughts on them:

Kindred by Octavia E. Butler

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Watch Her Fall by Erin Kelly

Gods of Jade and Shadow by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

The Midnight Library by Matt Haig

I Dare You by Sam Carrington

Concrete Rose by Angie Thomas


Favourite read was Concrete Rose. I wasn't at all expecting this to be the favourite as I read so many good books this month but it snuck it there at the last moment. A prequel to the novel The Hate You Give and unlike a lot of prequels, this one added so much depth to the characters and the world. I might love it even more than THUG...


In Writing...

Man did I not get much writing done. Still unsure how to write Act 3 and starting the process of editing my Act 1 and 2 as I made the awesome decision to switch from present tense to past tense.


In Life...

Celebrated my birthday and gifted myself with part one of the COVID-19 vaccine - literally on my birthday. Oscar is crawling around like a baby seal and desperate to stand up - cheeky one keeps standing up in his crib and pulling down our baby cam! Otherwise, just been enjoying the sunny days and trying to sleep through the night. It's a work in progress.

Comments


bottom of page