top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

July Wrap-Up

"I want to break hearts, but also build them up." - Fonda Lee

In Reading...

A bit of a mix this month. I saved a desert kingdom, went to a gothic boarding school, found a land with monster so beautiful they hypnotise their prey, slowly transformed through the seasons, tried my fortunes and found love instead, and of course: I went back to war-torn Kekon.


The books of June, with links to my thoughts on them:

One Piece, Alabasta Saga by Eiichiro Oda

Madam by Phoebe Wynne

Fire by Kristin Cashore

Sun Dog by Monique Roffey

Jade War by Fonda Lee


Favourite read was Jade War. I love this series. I can't believe the second book got me more excited than the first one. So much action, so much tension, these characters and this world is like nothing I've read in such a long time. Pre-ordered the last in the series, stalking Fonda Lee on twitter, I cannot wait.


In Writing...

I'm halfway there! 40K has been edited, 20K left to edit and another 20K left to write but stuff is happening. Camp Nano July has been awesome, I definitely got a lot more done than I expected to, we'll see about the result as it's so easy to go back over something you think was good but then end up battering the delete button.


In Life...

Had my second vaccination and we've planned a trip to Spain for next month. It'll be Oscar's first time flying and I'm both terrified and excited for the trip. This month, he's been walking around (holding on to tables, bookshelves, mummy...) and learning that it's pretty cool to sleep the whole night through. Yes, preeeettty damn cool.

Comments


bottom of page