top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

January Wrap-Up

Never put off till tomorrow the book you can read today.” - Holbrook Jackson

In Reading...

I watched angels and demons battle in Prague, and then solved a murder for Christmas. For the new year I went on a long space voyage to a small, angry planet, after which I reopened a murder case, searched for my twin sister, discovered a suicide was actually a murder, watched a country being torn apart generation after generation and, finally, I battled for survival in a world wrecked by climate change.


The books for the end of December and January, with links to my thoughts on them:

Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor

The Christmas Murder Game by Alexandra Benedict

Ordeal by Innocence by Agatha Christie

The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett

Sparkling Cyanide by Agatha Christie

Pachinko by Min Jin Lee

Parable of the Sower by Octavia E. Butler


Favourite read was The Vanishing Half & Pachinko. Hard to pin point really as I found Agatha Christie addictive to read, thought both Becky Chambers and Octavia E. Butler were genius with their world-building, and loved re-reading Laini Taylor. But both The Vanishing Half and Pachinko are haunting reads. Beautifully written, spanning generations and rich in history.


In Writing...

Again not much progress done. But I have new notebooks, new ideas and I'm starting to get through the main blocks. It's just a bit messy going through it. I do have some new year, new motivation kicks so hoping that will stick around.


In Life...

The big distraction this month has been going to Spain. That was so lovely, and needed. Good food, good company and some cheeky drinks. Oscar was great travelling and he's starting to eat more of what we eat which we love to see.

Comments


bottom of page