top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

December Wrap-Up

“For last year’s words belong to last year’s language and next year’s words await another voice. And to make an end is to make a beginning.” - T.S. Eliot

In Reading...

The last books of the year were pure fantasy. In one, death has been eliminated, in another there is a lot of death (goddamn you Fonda Lee!), my pirate crew save another country from a puppet master this time with a fashionable coat and in the last book, I wander the Halls of the House and marvel in its Beauty.


The books of December, with links to my thoughts on them:

Scythe by Neal Shusterman

Jade Legacy by Fonda Lee

Piranesi by Susanna Clarke


Favourite read was Jade Legacy. No surprise here. I knew it would make me cry, I knew I needed to read it, and I look forward to re-reading the Green Bone saga in the future with a degree less anxiety. Epic in so many ways, a fantastic conclusion to a fantastic series.


In Writing...

Hmm. Less happy with progress this month as there hasn't really been any. All thoughts to writing have either been on new ideas (they so shiny and tempting) or on the parts I'm not happy with in this current story. Blocked but not defeated.


In Life...

Yay Christmas season. Me and Guz are both boosted in preparation, presents have been wrapped, Santa has been spotted and just so ready to see family. I feel like the year has flown by and although there are many reasons why it's been another shit one, there are also plenty of good things that have happened and for our own little family, I've loved 2021.

Comentários


bottom of page