top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

Book Haul

Books can be your best friend, or that creep you avoid. They can say the most beautiful things, and the bitchiest. Not every word matters, but every book does.

Are you feeling lucky, punk?

So my birthday happened and I guess people know I like books... I was gifted 10, brought 4 for myself and swapped books with a friend for an extra 3. I am very, very lucky. And this doesn't even count the books on my shelf that I still haven't got around to reading.


Currently Reading:

  • Kindred, a time-travelling sci-fi which I'm only a very small part into but already it's very good. I've heard so many positive things about this author that I'm sure I'll have to buy more Octavia Butler books afterwards.


Fantasy:

  • I'm planning on reading Shadow and Bone next while the TV series is still fresh on my mind. Books are usually better than their film or TV counterparts but the show was so good that I'm actually betting on the reverse being true this time.

  • Very much looking forward to getting back into Kristin Cashore's trilogy with Fire.

  • Same with Fonda Lee's trilogy - I'm not sure how I can justify buying any books right now but I need to get my hands on Jade War.

  • Curious too about Gods of Jade and Shadow as I love me some Greek mythology.

  • Not sure when I'll get around to it, but the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy is long overdue for a re-read!

  • I've had Midnight Library on my 'To Read List' for a while, excited to finally get around to that one.

  • Sun Dog I know the least about but the main character is an awkward recluse and I love those.


Thrillers:

  • Watch Her Fall is one of the most beautiful hardbacks I've ever owned and as it's a dark themed ballet, I'm thinking I'll love it.

  • Madam is described as for fans of Margaret Atwood and Madeline Miller: both of which I stan.

  • Gorky Park as a triple murder and I need no more than that to make me want to solve it.

  • Lullaby might be a difficult one to read for me as, since having Oscar, I struggle to read anything involving babies being harmed - but who can turn down a trip to Paris?

  • I Dare You is a random read: part of a Blind Date with a Book scheme my sister came across. It involves a past kidnapping and someone lying...

Opmerkingen


bottom of page