top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

September Wrap-Up

"There is no longer any such thing as fiction or nonfiction; there’s only narrative." E. L. Doctorow

In Reading...

This month I learned mothers don't always know best, travelled between worlds, found love in Brooklyn and again in Derbyshire, and survived a swamp.


The books of September, with links to my thoughts on them:

I'm Glad My Mom Died by Jennette McCurdy

Pride by Ibi Zoboi

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen


My favourite read was I'm Glad My Mom Died. Some epic and lyrical books this month but I was so drawn into Jennette McCurdy's memoir. It's brutally honest, deeply moving and full of nuance. Highly recommend listening to the audiobook version.


In Writing...

Not much was done this month. I still have about 30,000 words to edit aka The End, which is by far the weakest part. But I'm also quite keen to take a step back from editing and drafting to really plan out my next novel. Lots to think about.


In Life...

Guz went to Japan and instead of being all alone, I got to hang out with a friend who is usually overseas. Cue shopping and hot chocolates and late nights chatting. As for Oscar, he grew four teeth (and didn't he let us know about it) and we visited a nursery where he'll be enrolling next month!

Comments


bottom of page