top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

August Wrap-Up

"You can find magic wherever you look. Sit back and relax, all you need is a book." Dr Seuss

In Reading...

This month I solved a murder mystery, survived Mars, unravelled family secrets and rekindling a past love.


The books of August, with links to my thoughts on them:

A Fatal Crossing by Tom Hindle

The Martian by Andy Weir

The Paper Palace by Miranda Cowley-Heller

Seven Days in June by Tia Williams


My favourite read was The Martian. I had fun with all the books this month but The Martian was really genius writing. So detailed, so immersive and so damn funny. One of those absolute worth the hype kind of books.


In Writing...

*New shiny idea alert* I am excited to re-read my novel next month and make some changes to it, but I will also be working on my new project. I have the title, the characters, a bit of the magic system and some of the premise worked out, so will be diving into this new world and messing it all up. Fun times!


In Life...

We went to Spain to see Guz's family and it was so relaxing. One of those visits where we had absolutely nothing to do and it was too damn hot to do anything anyway, so we just chilled. Oscar enjoyed it we think... he was a bit clingy with us but we discovered he can also be kidnapped with just a bag of crisps so that was good to learn.

Comments


bottom of page