top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

October Wrap-Up

"He was the eclipse that sucked the light and life out of the world. He was the moon eating the sun, and it was his racing shadow that stole the life from the world below."- He Who Drowned the World

In Reading...

This month I saw everyone's hidden colours, connected with my witchy ancestors, thought I may have murdered one or two people, played tricks on the gods, claimed my throne and stole my dead rivals manuscript...


The books of October with links to my thoughts on them:

Weyward by Emilia Hart

Third Girl by Agatha Christie

Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman

He Who Drowned the World by Shelley Parker-Chan

Yellowface by R. F. Kuang


Favourite read was He Who Drowned the World. This was a really stunning duology from start to finish. I was utterly swept away by Shelley Parker-Chan's world building and truly fantastic characterisations. A very special journey.


In Writing...

Well. I've started the sequel to Without a Shadow. Writing a book is hard, but writing a sequel it turns out is harder. I did make some progress and I'm happy with the direction it's going in but there's a long way to go.


In Life...

October was Oscar's birthday month and it really felt like it was his birthday the entire month. He has been spoiled with gifts and attention, his room has been turned into a space nerd's dream and he enjoyed a visit from his nanna and grandpops. The only thing he didn't get to do was visit the aquarium because, right when we were about to leave, we discovered he'd hid our car keys. Fun times.

Comments


bottom of page