top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

Norse Mythology Review

Of course it was Loki. It's always Loki.

Norse Mythology

by Neil Gaiman, BBC Radio 4's Full-Cast Dramatisation

Genre: Fantasy


About: This was a very abridged version of Neil Gaiman's Norse Mythology book lasting less than 2 hours. It's a full cast dramatisation of stories that centre Odin's rule, Loki's tricks and Thor's recklessness.


Thoughts

I thought this was a lot of fun. The characters have really strong personalities, the stories are entertaining and there's a true cosy fireside feeling to listening. Loki is certainly the star of all the stories. His tricks start off mild with hilarious consequences (I loved the wedding feast scene and the horse in the woods moment) but things soon take a darker tone. I think I could have spent pages and pages of Loki outwitting all the gods around him, but I appreciate that the tricks couldn't remain harmless pranks. Everything leads up to Ragnarok, which is set up as the end of all things, and yet comes with a bit too much abruptness to leave much of an impression. The fun prank scenes were more memorable to me. And perhaps it was simply the abridged nature of this audiobook, but I didn't feel the heartbreak when one of the gods is killed by Loki's trick. The book probably has more scenes with this character but this dramatised version heavily focuses on Loki, Odin and Thor with little space for other characters. Overall, I really enjoyed the experience of listening to this and I loved the characterisation of the main players.

Comentarios


bottom of page