top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

June Wrap-Up

"This suspense is terrible. I hope it will last." - Oscar Wilde

In Reading...

Another slow month for reading. Finishing those big, epic third books of a fantasy trilogy really eats up the month. But the books this month saw me become a Librarian/spy entering alternate worlds, I was then trapped in a guesthouse with a murderer, and lastly I was plotting my return to Daevabad to restore magic and defeat my murdering tyrant of a mother.


The books of June, with links to my thoughts on them:

The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman

The Mousetrap by Agatha Christie

The Empire of Gold by S.A. Chakraborty


My favourite read was The Mousetrap, an absolutely brilliant atmospheric read. In general, I think I prefer to read Christie novels as you do get to know the characters more this way, but I loved how perfectly her plot fitted the stage, truly masterfully done.


In Writing...

I'm doing The Thing. My novel is out there in the query trenches and one agent even requested the full MS. Nerves are frantic. Regrets are many. But I'm also so damn proud to have got to this point in the process. First time querying and I don't hate my story - in fact, I still kinda love it. Of course I have moved on to my Adult Detective Fantasy novel and will possibly be doing a relaxed Camp Nano with it. Or not. I have the outline and I'm officially drafting but it's hard to get my mind fully focused. July might be a month of pintrest boarding the story and refreshing my inbox.


In Life...

I had a girly weekend in London to celebrate my birthday and it felt so good to just chill and catch-up with friends. The husband coped and the baby forgave me for being away so it could even be a repeated thing.

Comentários


bottom of page