top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

July Wrap-Up

"If you listened hard enough in New York, you could always hear a siren. Someone, somewhere, was always getting hurt."- Cleopatra and Frankenstein

In Reading...

So the slump hit me hard this month. Though I did actually enjoy all the books I read and July saw me hitting my end of year goal to read 50 books!


The books this month sent me on the hunt for a dragon, breaking naked violinists out of prison, losing myself to love and discovering a body in the library.


The books of July, with links to my thoughts on them:

Jamrach's Menagerie by Carol Birch

Iron Gold by Pierce Brown

The Body in the Library by Agatha Christie


Favourite read was easily Cleopatra and Frankenstein. This was such an emotional read but one that had me smiling lots too. Loved the writing style and could have lived in this book for many pages more.


In Writing...

I read my own novel this month! After three rounds of edits plus the copyedits, it was finally time to read the book from start to finish. My editor has been amazing, the whole process has been fantastic. Stressful but immensely fun, and it was beyond satisfying reading the story again. I'm super happy with the changes and so very excited to hold a physical copy not too far off in the future!


In Life...

I travelled to Budapest this month to visit my best friend. I also had some exciting news for family and friends. And of course with the good came the bad as I was massively and horribly hit by sciatic pain.

Comments


bottom of page