top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

Cleopatra and Frankenstein Review

If you listened hard enough in New York, you could always hear a siren. Someone, somewhere, was always getting hurt.

Cleopatra and Frankenstein

by Coco Mellors


Genre: Contemporary

Mini Review


So I read this on a long weekend away and it was the perfect choice. I can be a bit picky when I'm travelling as I want something light but interesting enough that I don't forget about it. Well, this book isn't light but it absolutely hooked me.


What I think Coco Mellors does so well is how she pours emotion into a scene. There's so much laughter and heartache and melancholy. The character lives are full and complicated and you really feel for each and every one of them. This has multiple POVs but there really wasn't one character I wanted to see less of, I felt attached to them all. The writing does a fantastic job of giving each person a unique voice and perspective - as well as their own separate drama!


The only slight strangeness I guess I felt was to have one POV be in first person while the others were all in third. It was a very funny and distinct POV but it felt like an odd choice given that this was neither Cleo's or Frank's POV and did have more of an interlude feel to those sections.


Overall, this is a beautiful reflection of love and life. Complicated, heart-breaking and full of warmth. A very special read.

Comments


bottom of page