top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

August Wrap-Up

"Her life had been reduced to two days, the day Nicky was still alive and the day she died." Blue Sisters

In Reading...

This month I... became housemates with a nineteenth century commander, tried to solve my own murder, bobbed for apples, announced a murder, imploded my life, and spruced up a seaside bookshop.


The books of August with links to my thoughts on them:

The Ministry of Time by Kaliane Bradley

Hallowe'en Party by Agatha Christie

A Murder is Announced by Agatha Christie

Blue Sisters by Coco Mellors

Bookshop & Bonedust by Travis Baldree


Favourite read was Blue Sisters - beautiful writing, beautiful characters, I loved it even more than Cleopatra and Frankenstein which was a truly brilliant debut. I also thought How to Solve Your Own Murder was such a unique concept, perfectly executed.


Stats

4 Physical Books

2 Audiobooks

0 eBooks

0 books from the 24 in 2024 challenge

Average rating: 3.67 stars


Average rating was kind of low this month, and I think it was because a couple of books were ones I'd been caught in the hype for. I still liked The Ministry of Time and Bookshop and Bonedust, but I'd expected to like them a lot more than I did.


In Writing...

I FINISHED THE FIRST DRAFT! Writing this novel has been - not easy exactly, but a dream compared to my writing processes of the past. I've loved keeping track of my progress and watching that finish line get closer and closer. I stuck mostly to the outline, but of course drafting is it's own creation and it's been honestly fun to both discover and tell this story. I can't wait to re-read it and begin editing!


In Life...

This month was holiday month! Guz has technically been off the whole of August, though work has snuck in a few mornings and late night evenings... But we did manage to go to Torquay to visit my family and have a proper holiday. Seaside towns in the summer are so so lovely. It was a truly relaxing holiday. We also went to an aquarium which was the best experience ever for Oscar - he loved it even more than the dinosaur park which was pretty shocking considering his love of roaring. Lucas has been slightly less adorable this month as he begins his journey into solid foods and tries desperately to grow that first tooth...

Comments


bottom of page