top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

July Wrap-Up

"The person, be it gentleman or lady, who has not pleasure in a good novel, must be intolerably stupid." - Henry Tilney, Northanger Abbey

In Reading...

A bit dystopian this month. I started off in a world where They have banned all forms of art and creativity, then I went back to Victorian England and made a deal with a demon. From one gothic tale I moved to gothic satire and, honestly, it was a needed palette cleanse after Netflix's awful Persuasion release. Lastly, I watched The Sun from the window and hoped to be brought by the girl with the kind smile.


The books of July, with links to my thoughts on them:

They by Kay Dick

Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen

Klara and The Sun by Kazuo Ishiguro


My favourite read was Klara and The Sun. Truly beautifully written with a very intriguing world. I loved Klara instantly and flew through the book.


In Writing...

Well Camp Nano didn't really take off for me this month. Querying is very distracting and rejections are draining. My stats are still not looking too bad and I did have some nice rejections that made me think I'm not totally ridiculous for querying this story. I did also write the first chapter of my new novel so it hasn't been a terrible writing month. It hasn't been a good one, either.


In Life...

Heat, mostly. Been on a few little outings made possible by The Sun (not the garbage newspaper but that thing in the sky we hear so much about in other countries). Lots of fun for Oscar, though he is very much like his parents where he loves being out but loves even more getting home.

Commentaires


bottom of page