top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

Seven Days in June Review

I stayed alive for you. But you killed me anyway.

Seven Days in June

by Tia Williams


Genre: Romance

About: Eva Mercy is a bestselling author of a sexy witch-vampire series. Shane Hall is a critically acclaimed Black voice of a generation. Both their works were inspired by one week they spent together in June, fifteen years ago. It's a time neither of them can forget. And while they've both changed in the aftermath of those seven days, some connections are too deep-rooted and time only makes them stronger.


The Good

Both Eva and Shane are fantastically written characters. Normally with romances I attach myself to one character and fall in love with the other, but with this one, I felt strongly attached to both and I loved the journeys they both went on. The POVs are written very well. Eva's had me laughing out loud on many occasions and Shane's really hit hard. They're not characters you forget. I enjoyed their romance and loved many of the characters on the page.

The Bad

The tone does change quite a bit throughout. It's a very funny novel, which I enjoyed, and it gets plenty hot and heavy, which I also enjoyed, but the jumps between the light and the dark and the sexy was disorientating at times. It was almost like reading Eva's vamp-witch romance with Shane's metaphorical novel weaved in between. Both good, but for very different moods.


The Somewhat Iffy

A little hard to swallow that they both wrote bestselling novels while they were teenagers. I also didn't enjoy the portrayal of Eva's fanbase. The portrayal seemed to me that being a fangirl/boy meant you don't read other books, and to ship hard a romance must mean you're lacking something in your own sex life. It just seemed like shade on anyone who's loved fantasy characters and been passionate in the fanbase.


How things ended for Ty read, to me, as a little forced. I didn't see why Ty ignored Shane's advice and instead put himself in such an obviously dangerous situation - for someone without a role model figure the situation made sense, but Ty had Shane and they talked everyday. To me it was like inevitable conflict forcibly inserted into the narrative. While if Shane had been too busy to check in on Ty to give the advice, it would make more sense that Ty got into the situation. I also didn't understand how Shane was so clear thinking to book a return flight so he could attend the Litties awards but not text Eva he was leaving for a short while.

Overall

A great summer read with memorable characters. I would love to see a movie version too - with cutscenes from both their novels. A fun vibe that's deep at its core and very reflective of Eva and Shane.

Kommentare


bottom of page