top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

Short-listings

My dad’s wiry black hair is muzzled with mine, though with my blonde curls it’s like night and day mixed together.

Two Black Coals

Genre: YA Contemporary Fantasy

About: While her mum and step-dad are on holiday, without her, Lara spends time with her dad. It's nine days that will change her forever.

Process: I have three versions of this short story. One where Lara is ten years old and the POV is a little cheesy, the story a little pointless. Another is in the dad's POV and, while I like that one, the ending is super abstract. But there's something about the characters and the story overall that made me want to write a third (and final) version. This one is in Lara's POV as a teenager and has more substance and emotion to it than any of the others. I like the voice in this version the best and although I wish I expanded a bit more on the twist, I'm happy with the story. You can read it here


He leans over my chest, shifting his weight back and forth and all I can think of is – milk.

23

Genre: Contemporary Dystopian

About: Max has made a mistake: they didn't buy milk and they voted with their heart.

Process: Voting has never matter more these days. After seeing Trump in the White House and Johnson leading Parliament, as well as all the other bastard governments in the world (Brazil, Hungary, Russia...). It's depressing, and I wrote a depressing short story to go with the times. Not super happy with this short overall but it felt important for me to write something. You can read it here

Comments


bottom of page