top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

September Wrap-Up

"You don't need a Blessing to be a miracle." Voyage of the Damned

In Reading...

This month I... locked up my mother, woke up to yesterday, found the missing, lied about my blessing, saw Humpty fall, faced my father's clone, looked for hidden doors, witnessed a murder on the train, tasted the past, escaped my hosts, and fell in love with my ex's ex.


The books of September with links to my thoughts on them:

What Lies Between Us by John Marrs

Wrong Place, Wrong Time by Gillian McAllister

Queen's Catacombs by Jordan H. Bartlett

Voyage of the Damned by Frances White

Fablenoir by Vic Sinclair

4:50 From Paddington by Agatha Christie

The Kamogawa Food Detectives by Hisashi Kashiwai

Funny Story by Emily Henry


Favourite read was Voyage of the Damned! This was so much fun with an awesome narrator and absolutely perfect for fans of both mystery and fantasy.


Stats

3 Physical Books

4 Audiobooks

4 eBooks

0 books from the 24 in 2024 challenge

Average rating: 3.95 stars


In Writing...

I was shortlisted in a flash fiction comp and got to read my entry on stage at the Lincoln Book Festival. I also entered a short story comp as I tried my hand at writing crime fiction for the first time! And of course I read and worked on editing my latest WIP, Wingbone. I absolutely love this story and so hope I get to share it with the world one day.


In Life...

Lucas is officially on the move having mastered crawling and trying hard to take those first steps. It's bloody adorable and exhausting. Oscar has gone full blown Lego obsessed - which means constantly scanning the floor for tiny pieces before Lucas scoops them up. The two brothers have had a lot more interaction. Lucas loves his big brother so so much, and Oscar tolerates him pretty well. Sleep continues to be a bugger and my hands have turned to an eighty-year-old woman's as the weather turns chilly.

Comments


bottom of page