top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

October Wrap-Up

"If you want your children to be intelligent, read them fairy tales. If you want them to be more intelligent, read them more fairy tales." - Albert Einstein

In Reading...

This month I stood trial for witchcraft, became an aviator and solved a murder within a murder.


The books of October, with links to my thoughts on them:

Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz

Great Circle by Maggie Shipstead

The Ruin of all Witches by Malcolm Gaskill


My favourite read was Great Circle. All three books had an epic feel to them but Maggie Shipstead's transported me with her absolutely stunning prose and the kind of journey where you feel you lived many lives alongside the characters.


In Writing...

My novel Without a Shadow has been offered a publishing contract! No, really. A CONTRACT. It's surreal, exciting... all the feels. I think I have a long journey ahead to get it to a point where I'd feel proud to have the whole thing in print, but I'm blown away that I have the opportunity.


In Life...

Oscar started nursery, turned TWO and spent some time with his nanna and grandpops. We are so damn proud of him! It has been a bit of an emotional month that came with some realisations that were hard to face and I'm still processing it all now, but Oscar is the joy of our lives and we are so lucky to have the little goofball to remind us what's important.

Comments


bottom of page