top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

November Wrap-Up

"So many stories. So many secrets." - Marple

In Reading...

This month I solved a murder in a kilt, made a deal with a Fate, knitted my way through crime, befriended an octopus and became a ninja.


The books of November, with links to my thoughts on them:

Where You Will Die by Craig Allen Heath

Once Upon a Broken Heart by Stephanie Garber

Marple by Naomi Alderman et al.

Remarkably Bright Creatures by Shelby Van Pelt

Induction by S. E. Sharp


My favourite read was Once Upon a Broken Heart. I think Remarkably Bright Creatures is also a stunning debut, but Stephanie Garber's novel got me excited to write again. The world is so magical and you're never quite sure where the story will take you next - to heartbreak or happily ever after.


In Writing...

I have been planning my next novel for what feels like months, but in reality I've just been super indecisive about what I want to write about. Finally, I started writing something. I didn't attempt NaNoWriMo (congrats to all who did) but I am excited about what I have written. Still working out the whole plot and developing the magic system (it's a fantasy, of course) but falling in love with a new story is just the best feeling.


In Life...

I'm not really sure what happened this month as it went so damn fast. We spent some more time with friends, which has been lovely, and apart from some illnesses, Oscar has been getting on great at the nursery. He's really been the main focus. Simultaneously breaking our heart and filling it, the worries and joys of parenthood is a never ending cycle.

Comments


bottom of page