top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

March Wrap-Up

"It was beautiful. Magical. Which meant it was almost certainly deadly."- The River of Silver

In Reading...

This month I battled an earth demon, went bounty hunting, married a being of chaos, hoped for the lung of a serial killer, predicted a doctor's death, released The Fates, invoked Iron Rain, travelled between worlds and was deceived by a honey-tongued prince.


The books of March, with links to my thoughts on them:

The River of Silver by S. A. Chakraborty

Kaleidoscope by Derrick R. Lafayette

Murder is Easy by Agatha Christie

Legendary by Stephanie Garber

Finale by Stephanie Garber

Golden Son by Pierce Brown

Magician by Raymond E. Feist

The Stolen Heir by Holly Black


So many fun adventures this month! A lot of fantasy reads. S.A. Chakraborty was the standout author this month. Djinn and Pirates... I feel spoilt. I also continue to be amazed by Pierce Brown's Red Rising series. And my only full 5 star read was the nonfiction anthology: Keeping It Under Wraps. So many diverse voices sharing truly unique (and yet utterly relatable) stories of their relationship with their bodies.


In Writing...

This month I received my official edit letter for Without a Shadow! Of course I've had feedback on this story from beta readers before and I kind of knew some of the big problems with the story, and yet this edit letter was so amazing to receive. Very detailed and lots of work to do but my editor seemed to really understand my vision for the story and I love her suggestions. So excited for the edit to be complete, the direction the story is taking is exactly what I could want!


In Life...

Well the terrible twos is just great, isn't it? Our darling, smiling son who has giggles always ready to bubble to the surface has become one of those fussy, raging toddlers. So much drama for one so little.

Comments


bottom of page