top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

March Wrap-Up

"We have only died if you forget us." —anonymous epitaph on Spanish Civil War Mass Grave

In Reading...

This month I released evil into the world, saw past evils, grieved for a boy lost, befriended the boy of a mysterious woman, and interviewed five witnesses to a unsolved murder.


The books of March, with links to my thoughts on them:

The Well of Ascension by Brandon Sanderson

The Fountains of Silence by Ruta Sepetys

Hamnet by Maggie O'Farrell

Five Little Pigs by Agatha Christie


Favourite read was Hamnet. This book was just so beautiful and raw in its emotions. I felt like I was reading the true account of Shakespeare's family and seeing first hand the inspiration behind many of his immortalised work. A very special read. Another close favourite was The Well of Ascension because damn, that was high fantasy done good.


In Writing...

I printed the first draft to my novel! Sort of first draft. Still haven't written the ending but it's at the 100k mark and I needed it out of my computer screen and under black ink scribbles. Lots of work to be done but the first read-through wasn't bad. Incomplete, yes. In need of big changes and rewrites, certainly. But... no esta mal. Hope to get it to a readable stage next month.


In Life...

Covid hit us. Guz got it, then me, then Oscar. So not a great month health-wise. We didn't get up to much and we're only starting to get back to a normal routine now.

Comments


bottom of page