top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

Best books for under 1 year

Oscar is now 1 years old and he loves reading/eating books. These have been some of his favourites and are ones even I don't mind reading for the gazillionth time.


Never Touch A Dinosaur

by Greening Rosie

You must never touch a dinosaur with horns upon its head...

A touch/feel book.

What Oscar likes: The colours probably as it's very contrasting and all the different textures jump out at him. It's also a very fun book to read - it's so easy to get him giggling with it.

What I like: The rhymes are great, if a little repetitive. And I think will age well for when he's a bit older and into being tickled.





The Whales on the Bus

by Katrina Charman & Nick Sharratt

The baboons on balloons float home for tea...

A sing along book.

What Oscar likes: He smiles so much when I open up this one. I think he likes the illustrations a lot and he definitely calms down when I start singing it so it's perfect for mealtimes. He also loved the Go Go Pirate Boat version (aka Row Row Your Boat) but he sadly destroyed the pages to that one.

What I like: It really is a better version of The Wheels on the Bus. Each page is a different animal on different transportation with fun illustrations and memorable lines.


Slippy Snail

by Igloo Books

Your mummy has left a trail, it is just for you...

A finger puppet book.

What Oscar likes: Being attacked by the snail pretty much.

What I like: The text doesn't flow as well as the other books but I love how small the book is (fits nicely into nappy bag) and is my go-to when we're out and I need to get him smiling, quick!






That's not my penguin

by Usborne Books

That's not my penguin... its wings are too velvety.

A touch/feel book.

What Oscar likes: He finds the set-up hilarious for some reason. Took him a while to understand which bits were textured but now he knows them all and he loves me emphasising the 'that's NOT my penguin' each and every time.

What I like: this is probably the easiest book to read and make it sound fun. We now have a new 'That's not my snowman' version that he equally likes so it's a winning formula.


Gruffalo, Where Are You?

by Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler

Is that you in a treetop house?

A felt flap book.

What Oscar likes: He is master of lifting up the flaps. It gets him super excited to reveal the animal behind it and he'll even turn the page if he thinks I'm reading it too slow.

What I like: That he can't destroy the flaps. All his other flap books are card and he's brutal with them. But these felt ones he can't pull off the page (yet) and he finds them very easy to handle. I also highly recommend any book by this pair - we have many and they are so great to read. They do vary in age level but I love all the stories - the rhyming is always very clever and surprisingly none of their books get boring to read, even after reading them many times over a day.

Comments


bottom of page