top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

April Wrap-Up

"I am a cabin-boy again, and Dona St Columb is asleep and dreaming." Frenchman's Creek

In Reading...

This month I... published a freaking book!! Also, I fell in love with a pirate, tried to forget my father the serial killer, painted nightmares, went to the trenches, took up my sword again, and composed a masterpiece.


The books of April with links to my thoughts on them:

Frenchman's Creek by Daphne du Maurier

A Flicker in the Dark by Stacy Willingham

Yumi and the Nightmare Painter by Brandon Sanderson

In Memoriam by Alice Winn

The Sword of Kaigen by M. L. Wang

Giant's Bread by Mary Westmacott / Agatha Christie



Favourite read was Frenchman's Creek because, pirates. But Yumi, In Memoriam and The Sword of Kaigen are all massively sticking with me...


Stats

3 Physical Books

2 Audiobooks

1 eBooks

3 books from the 24 in 2024 challenge

Average rating: 4.08 stars


In Writing...

Without a Shadow was released this month! Enter the world of shadow magic and deadly ambition in my debut YA fantasy novel. I finished writing the first draft when Oscar was around 6 months old and it's crazy to me that, now it's a real book, Oscar has a little sibling who's just turned 2 months! Life is an absolute blur some days, but a happy one.


In Life...

This month has been a fun one. We went to our first stage show with Oscar and Lucas (who both fell asleep halfway through) but it's turned into a very special memory for Oscar and we now read There's a Monster in Your Book every night. I also had some baby-free fun at a hen party in Newcastle. And I even got to finally see Dune part 2 on the big screen (tag teaming parenting is hard).

Comments


bottom of page