top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

April Wrap-Up

"You want to open a door that isn't meant to be opened. You have no idea what might come through."- Hell Bent

In Reading...

This month I tried to stay alive in a deadly prison, searched for my missing sister, was bribed in diamonds, uncovered Hollywood scandals, gave cancer to mice, and brought a demon (or two) out of hell.


The books of April, with links to my thoughts on them:

The Prison Healer by Lynette Noni

The Heart of the Matter by Graham Greene

Hell Bent by Leigh Bardugo


My favourite read of the month was probably Hell Bent. I didn't enjoy it as much as Ninth House but the vibes were just immaculate and I think the world really opened up. I also loved the mastery of POVs in The Last House on Needless Street and I feel so lucky to have stumbled across This Living and Immortal Thing.


In Writing...

Well, I finished my first round of edits for Without a Shadow. The manuscript has gone from 100K to 75K! Looking forward to my editor's comments for the second round but definitely I've made some improvements. Way happier with the story now though still need to fix the end...


In Life...

A few important steps forward for Oscar with nursery and speech and language therapy. Very slow going but it's important to take the wins and just feel the joy as he discovers things for himself. Had so much fun this month going to the park and the fun fare. Love the change in weather and having a friend visit!

Comments


bottom of page