top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

The Secret Adversary Review

Never tell all you know-not even to the person you know best.

The Secret Adversary

by Agatha Christie

Genre: Mystery


About: Tommy and Tuppence have been friends for a long time and share one quite pressing thing in common: they're always broke. That is until Tuppence decides they'll start a little venture together. Overheard by a wealthy businessman, Tuppence is offered an unusual task but it leads to more questions and soon Tommy and Tuppence are embroiled in a case of espionage with dangerous consequences...


Thoughts

This was... fun? Tommy and Tuppence are really charming characters and there's a light-heartedness throughout that makes this an enjoyable read. But the plot was beyond far-fetched and I wasn't interested in any of the mysteries. Mr Brown is a Moriarty character who I've never really even liked in the Sherlock cases and I guessed who was behind the mask fairly easily. The Jane Finn equation was not too intriguing to me. The only mystery I wanted to focus on was the murder which was definitely not the focus of the story. This is a spy thriller, emphasis on the spy. And that just wasn't for me.


I couldn't suspend my disbelief on the stakes - an old treaty being discovered years later and potentially starting a new war didn't seem plausible to me. Maybe it was, but five years is a long time in politics, I just didn't believe the treaty could remain such a ticking bomb. Five years is also a long time to pretend to be someone you're not day in, day out.


Overall, I liked the characters but there wasn't nothing tense or intriguing to me as I find in other Christie novels. It was all a bit silly but I still like it?

댓글


bottom of page