top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

The Penguin Book of Christmas Stories Review

Old man that I am, shall I behold such a miracle?

The Penguin Book of Christmas Stories

Edited by Jessica Harrison

Genre: Classics / Short Stories


About: This collection has no less than 32 short stories, all themed around the Christmas holidays.


Thoughts

The stories were easy to read and many of them were very on the short side being only a few pages in length. But unfortunately that meant that many of them lacked an impact and verged on pointless. I could have filtered out two thirds of this collection and been a lot happier with less stories that had more meaning behind them. It could also be that some of their meanings went over my head or the translations weren't good, I don't know. But I do know that out of the 32, there were 10 that actually stuck with me and which I really enjoyed. These were (in order of preference):



A Christmas Memory by Truman Capote


Noël by Irène Némirovsky


The Fir Tree by Hans Christian Anderson


Midnight Mass by Joaquim Maria Machado de Assis


Christmas Morning by Frank O'Connor


The Little Restaurant near Place des Ternes by George Simenon


One Christmas Eve by Langston Hughes


Boys by Anton Chekhov


The Legend of the Christmas Rose by Selma Lagerlõf


The Necklace of Pearls by Dorothy L. Sayers

تعليقات


bottom of page