top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

The Greenshore Folly Review

If the known facts seem to fit with what we have been told, then we never question them.

The Greenshore Folly

by Agatha Christie


Genre: Murder Mystery

About: A famed murder mystery writer is tasked with setting up a novelty Murder Hunt game on a grand estate. But when details of her game begin changing, she suspects a real murderer is among the guests...


The Good

As always with Agatha Christie, the plot was intriguing, the characters jumped off the pages and it was fun and easy to read. I enjoyed the setting and I found the ending very satisfying - some parts I guessed, others I really had no idea of but everything fits together nicely.

The Bad

There is a longer version of this story (Dead Man's Folly) which I might enjoy more as I did find this too short. There were only ten chapters and a body wasn't discovered until the end of chapter six so it felt like a lot of built up, followed by too swift a resolution. And I don't feel like I spent enough time with any of the characters. Even with the long build up, I found myself not clear on who was who. Most of the characters were introduced all at once and the story was written so concisely that there was no lingering around to get to know anyone.


The Somewhat Iffy

A few of the conversations read very conveniently. The boatman, for one and the murder victim for another. The snippets were given too obviously as clues, but I think this was simply because there are so few scenes that any conversation reads as important and every detail becomes noticeable.


I do also feel that some of her characters are too similar to previous ones and raise instant red flags so that takes a little of the surprise out from the twists.


Overall

An enjoyable, fast read that has a bit of a strange pace but I'm sure this is resolved in the longer version.

Comments


bottom of page