top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

The Escape Room Review

Their hands were soft, and clean, and free of calluses. But only because they never touched the blood they spilled.

The Escape Room

by Megan Goldin


Genre: Thriller

About: An elite team of financial hotshots live, work, sleep, breathe Wall Street. But business has been bad. They've lost their company money, and in Wall Street, money is everything. So when they're called to a late night meeting in a deserted building, they can't miss it. But while they think they face the possibility of being fired, a team building exercise of an escape room reveals their reality is one of survival.


The Good

The novel is split between the present: four colleagues trapped in an escape room, and the past: Sara Hall starting her career on Wall Street. It made for great pacing as we get Sara's journey clipped between an increasingly tense escape room. I found all the characters really interesting to discover more about and Sara was easy for me to attach to as a rags to riches to regrets protagonist. I thought the setting was clever for a thriller and the plot had plenty to interest me, I raced through this.


The Bad

It took a while for me to separate the characters - I kept mixing up Sam and Jules and I think it's because when we're in the escape room the narration mind hops between all four characters, which can be confusing.


The Somewhat Iffy

All thrillers suffer from a rushed climax and ending. I don't think any can claim to match the excitement of the premise and the build up that follows and, for me, this one is no exception. It isn't bad with its ending, but it also isn't fully satisfying.


Overall

I really enjoyed this. It's a well written, page turning thriller. The setting was exactly what I wanted: the corporate world with its fangs out. I liked reading the murky characters and I cared about the story. Couldn't ask for much more.

Comments


bottom of page