top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

None Of This Is True Review

It was almost as if I knew, even then, that there was no way back. That once I'd befriended the monster, that was it. For life.

None Of This Is True

by Lisa Jewell

Genre: Mystery Thriller


About: Josie and Alix couldn't be more different. One is a school dropout married to a man often mistaken for her father, the other is a successful podcaster with an Instagram ready family. But when they meet and discover they're 'birthday twins' the two women strike up... well, not quite a friendship but something that will change both of their lives and give Alix her best podcast series yet. At a cost.


Thoughts

I loved how visual this reads. The descriptions of the Netflix episodes and the inserts of the podcast gave so much drama to the story. Like I was bingeing this addictive show. It was fascinating and I was hooked. There's a sense of unease throughout as you're trying to work out just how crazy does the story get...


I do think the title ruins a bit of the overall effect of the book. Going into it expecting to be lied to, as well as being in Josie's POV, made the reveals less shocking and more inevitable. And while it is ambiguous with the ending, it isn't dramatically so. For me, at least, I felt like the truth wasn't murky enough as I have no doubt who else was lying.


So although I loved the atmosphere, I felt like the ending didn't give the payoff of the build up. It just wasn't twisty or shocking enough because we're encouraged to mistrust everything Josie says and then, when you look at the facts, it becomes obvious who else is lying. I wanted to be misled a little bit more.

Comments


bottom of page