top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

January Wrap-Up

"The less they are heard, the easier they are forgotten." - The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida

In Reading...

This month I died and filed paperwork, ran a bee farm, married a Duke, was stalked on my honeymoon, got to know my husband's mistress, started seeing ghosts, inherited a multi-billion dollar fortune and was the first to get the call from Death-Cast.


The books of January, with links to my thoughts on them:

The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida by Shehan Karunatilaka

Mad Honey by Jodi Picoult and Jennifer Finney Boylan

The Marriage Portrait by Maggie O'Farrell

Death on the Nile by Agatha Christie

The Christie Affair by Nina De Gramont

She Who Became the Sun by Shelley Parker-Chan

The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes


My favourite read was The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida. I loved the dark humour and the voice was just so unique. But The Marriage Portrait, She Who Became the Sun and The First to Die at the End were all books that made a home in my heart.


In Writing...

I went back to Without a Shadow before getting my edit letter... very bad of me, but I just had to make some changes to the ending. Having spent a good amount of time away from the manuscript, I was actually really excited to get back to that world and I really like the changes I made. It's still not a perfect ending and I'm sure editing in March is not going to be fun, but I feel excited about the story again.


In Life...

Books took over my life this month. I loved our week in Spain, it was a blur but a good blur, and then pretty much the rest of the month has just been readjusting to normal non-holiday home life. Naturally I chose to escape in books.

Comments


bottom of page