top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

If I Have To Be Haunted Review

Remember all those times you told me to go to hell? Bet you didn't think you'd be coming with me.

If I Have To Be Haunted

by Miranda Sun

Genre: YA Fantasy


About: Cara can see ghosts. There's her dead grandmother who lives in the attic, the dead janitor who won't stop cleaning up the school, and now her mortal enemy has the audacity to drop dead while they're supposed to be working on a science project together. Impossible to ignore, Zach threatens to haunt her forever unless she can use her powers to bring him back to life.


Thoughts

Well, this was adorable. Cara and Zach were both fantastic characters with a lot of depth given to them - made really by their complicated family relationships. And they truly were enemies to lovers. Or at least it felt that way from Cara's perspective because she genuinely seemed to be annoyed by Zach's privileges and arrogance. The slide into romance was done gradually and the banter was never dropped. I loved their dynamic. Cara's friendships as well came across as funny and realistic. All the characters were vivid and fun.


Except maybe the snakes. They came across as very info-dumpy and cheesy to me. I also didn't really see why Britney was a needed addition to the quest.


But these were minor things in an overall great story that had me melting by the end. Zach's speech at the 90% mark absolutely killed me, turned me into a ghost and had me haunting every word of it.


I would have loved to have found out more about Cara's grandmother and mother's history but the epilogue suggests there's more to come...

Comments


bottom of page