top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

Evil Under the Sun Review

That, you would say, is the advantage of strangulation! No bloodstains, no weapon - nothing to get rid of or conceal! Nothing is needed but physical strength - and the soul of a killer!

Evil Under the Sun

by Agatha Christie


Genre: Murder Mystery

About: When Arlena Stuart is found murdered one morning, no-one is really surprised. She was the kind of woman that attracted all the wrong attention; the devil incarnate who lured men from their wives. But while plenty of women hated her, Poirot thinks the solution may be more sinister than the crime of jealousy or one of passion. This plot has the cold and evil shape of a true killer.


The Good

The solution to this murder mystery is very ingenious and I don't think many would be able to guess correctly. As with many Christies, I can suspect the murderer, I can piece together some of the clues, but I need the monologue at the end to explain the intricacies of the who, what, how. I love how Poirot takes apart everyone's alibis so that it seems as if anyone could have done it, and I love the randomness of the puzzle pieces. A pair of scissors, magenta wool, candles, a bottle thrown out the window... The tiniest details are what shape the case and it really highlights Poirot's (and Christie's) genius.


The Bad

This seems like the kind of story that works better visually. The different caves, the beaches, the causeway, all of these places that are so significant to the crime are given to us in glimpses. The best was the beach at the beginning, but after the murder takes place I didn't really feel I was experiencing the location anymore. The atmosphere is built up well at the beginning but then fades into a series of interviews that could take place anywhere.


The Somewhat Iffy

I wasn't too sure why the Redfern had to kill Arlena. She still had money to give and even if she became penniless, why kill her? It seemed an unnecessary risk though I suppose the point was he was evil and enjoyed getting away with it?


Overall

So many suspects, so many red herrings to follow and a very clever solution at the end. I loved how Poirot pieces this one together and I think the murder victim is a memorable one.

Comments


bottom of page