top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

Daisy Jones and The Six Review

It scared me that the only thing between this moment of calm and the biggest tragedy of my life was me choosing not to do it.

Daisy Jones and The Six

by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Genre: Historical Fiction


About: Daisy Jones is a beauty and a talent: an icon in the making. And when she meets rock band The Six and its lead singer, Billy Dunne, the world takes notice. Together, they'll leave their mark on rock'n'roll - but the experience will also leave its mark on them. Love, addiction and ambition all spiral out of control and just as it makes them legendary, it also begins to break them.


Thoughts

So I read The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo and I liked it, but I did not get the hype and adoration that surrounded that book. Daisy Jones and The Six, however, blew me away. It gave me everything I was expecting to get from the Evelyn Hugo book.


There are so many POVs in this book, we jump back and forth constantly and sometimes for just a soundbite or to give a different look at the same scene. It could easily have been confusing or disjointing to an overall story, but instead Reid plays between each voice perfectly. The different personalities shine, their perspectives were interesting and not always in perfect harmony (as in life) and there were so many profound moments to each of their storylines. Well, except Eddy. He really was hilariously one note. But everyone else had complexities and you were right there with them through their struggles.


Considering this is an interview style novel, the writing still somehow managed to be exquisite. I listened to the audiobook version but I could have highlighted so many sections if I'd had a physical or e-book copy. The lines floored me. It isn't just a love story, it's a life story. Characters reflect on their biggest successes and failures, what drove them to do the things they did, and how they survived their darkest moments: the people in their life that they needed and the people they had to let go of. It's beautiful introspection.


It's also highly addictive to listen to. The pace compels you to find out everything you can about these characters and their rock'n'roll lifestyle. The celebrity aspect draws you in like you've been given a VIP All Access Pass. The actual timeline of events spans decades, and yet it doesn't feel like you're ever waiting for things to happen. Every moment is both glamourous and seedy, and impossible to look away from.


For me, this book was as iconic as Daisy Jones and The Six were supposed to be. I loved following all of the heartache and all of the hope Reid also gives to the characters. It takes you on a ride and really feels like you're looking back in time; listening to the band, going on the tours and watching the legend being born.

Comments


bottom of page