top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

Carrie Soto is Back Review

They can't make us go away just because they are done with us.

Carrie Soto is Back

by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Genre: Historical Fiction


About: Carrie Soto has had one aim in life: be the greatest tennis player the sport has ever known. And by the time she retires her racket, she's broken a litany of records, making her a living legend. Until one day her grand slam record is tied with another break out player. She could allow tennis its new star. But Carrie Soto doesn't know how to lose and so, at age 37, she comes out of retirement to win every goddamn tournament, and prove she's still the best tennis player in the world. It's the only thing that's ever mattered to her. It's all she has.


Thoughts

I really didn't think I was going to love an entire book around Carrie Soto - her character crops up in Malibu Rising and she kind of explodes on the page, but not in a way where I wanted to find out more about her. And yet this was honestly great from start to finish.


I loved how technical the gameplay was, I loved the relationship between Carrie and her father, I was genuinely on the edge of my seat for every match, and all the side characters felt like real people with their own messes and insecurities.


This book was like a Carrie Soto match - pretty damn near faultless, graceful in its precision and full of love for the game. It really has an excellent message about women's sports and women's achievements in general.


I highly recommend the audiobook as I think the narrators do an excellent job, but I will also be buying a physical copy of the book because I just enjoyed the experience of this story so much. It got pretty emotional near the end and I should have been able to predict the how things would all wrap up, but I didn't. To the very last percentage point it was absolute perfection. 

Comments


bottom of page