top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

Book Lovers Review

Life in New York was like being in a giant bookstore: all these trillions of paths and possibilities drawing dreamers into the city's beating heart, saying, I make no promises but I offer many doors.

Book Lovers

by Emily Henry

Genre: Contemporary Romance


About: Nora loves her life. She lives in the best city in the world, she has a great job, her sister and her forever growing family is nearby... Things are good. Okay, so she's the technical villain in every rom com she reads (career woman cares of shoes more than sunsets) but that's a minor detail. Until her sister decides to star Nora in her very own country bumpkin rom com. There's a checklist and everything. No more dating city men: which most certainly crosses out arch nemesis Charlie Lastra...


Thoughts

This was great. I didn't love You and Me on Vacation that much, although I did think the chemistry was really cute, but this book had everything I felt was missing from that one. As in motivations that actually made sense, great side characters, as well as chemistry that was less cute than it was so frigging sexy. I thought I was an opposites attract kind of girlie but I absolutely loved Nora and Charlie being complete reflections of each other. I don't know how many romances out there do the I Am Heathcliff troupe but I loved it and found it really refreshing (and not toxic as in Wuthering Heights).


One of my biggest gripes against the romance genre is the silly we can't possibly be together/unnecessary break-up moment just to create conflict but in Book Lovers, this moment works so well. Yes, the solution is guessable and a bit wrapped up tidy in a bow, but the conflict is believable and a genuine well, this sucks situation.


Both Nora and Charlie go through a lot of growth during the novel and you really get the sense that they are good for each other. They understand how the other thinks and feels, since it's how they think and feel themselves, so they're able to help them move forward and truly be there for each other. They just work. They also have the funniest banter that simultaneous makes you smile but also feel the temperature of the room heating up.


Overall, this was so enjoyable and addictive to read. I loved the characters and my only reason for it not being a full 5 star read was it was a little too predictable in places and the meta sections took me a bit out of the reading experience. But it's definitely turned me into an Emily Henry fan.

Comments


bottom of page