top of page
Search
Helen Reynolds

August Wrap-Up

"It doesn't matter how ridiculous the lie is if the lie is your only chance to escape. It doesn't matter how obvious the truth is if the truth is that you'll never escape." Gorky Park, Martin Cruz Smith

In Reading...

I solved a triple murder in Russia, got locked in an elevator/escape room, survived the dawn, travelled back to the land of the fae and continued my epic adventures in a pirate ship.


The books of August, with links to my thoughts on them:

Gorky Park by Martin Cruz Smith

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

Escape Room by Megan Goldin

One Piece, Skpedia Arc by Eiichiro Oda


Favourite read was Gorky Park. This was such a well written, immersive detective thriller. I loved the main character, the dialogue was so good and the setting was Cold War Russia, Film Noir style. A very intelligent read that entertains.


In Writing...

I finished the edits I'd planned to do before my holiday so have around two thirds completed, or 63,000 words. Just the ending and a few chapters in a different POV to write before I can get my first draft printed off! Excited and happy with how things are going with the novel. Also an extract of it has been published as part of an eBook titled, How To Write Your First Page, by Mslexia and The Literary Consultancy! See my post on it here.


In Life...

We went to Spain! Oscar took his first trip to Spain this month and visited his abuelos! It was amazing to go somewhere, especially as a family to see family. I loved seeing Oscar's first reactions to the sea, going out for paseo in actual hot, sunny weather and I continue to be amazed by how brilliant Oscar adapts to situations. He was an amazing traveller, adapted to a new routine and new people so quickly. We are very lucky with this baby.

Comentarios


bottom of page